Teenage Fanclub Announce New Album Nothing Lasts Forever, Share Video for New Song: Watch

Teenage Fanclub

Teenage Fanclub, photo by Donald Milne

Teenage Fanclub Announce New Album Nothing Lasts Forever, Share Video for New Song: Watch

Check out “Foreign Land” from the band’s September full-length

Teenage Fanclub have announced Nothing Lasts Forever, the follow-up to 2021’s Endless Arcade. The album is out September 22 via Merge in the United States and the band’s label, PeMa, in the United Kingdom and Europe. Check out the video for album opener “Foreign Land” below.

“We never talk about what we’re going to do before we start making a record,” songwriter Raymond McGinley said in a statement. “We don’t plan much other than the nuts and bolts of where we’re going to record and when. That thing about light was completely accidental; we didn’t realize that until we’d finished half the songs. The record feels reflective, and I think the more we do this thing, the more we become comfortable with going to that place of melancholy, feeling and expressing those feelings.”

“These songs are definitely personal. You’re getting older, you’re going into the cupboard getting the black suit out more often. Thoughts of mortality and the idea of the light must have been playing on our minds a lot,” Norman Blake added. “The songs on the last record were influenced by the breakup of my marriage. It was cathartic to write those songs. These new songs are reflective of how I’m feeling now, coming out of that period. They’re fairly optimistic, there’s an acceptance of a situation and all of the experience that comes with that acceptance. When we write, it’s a reflection of our lives, which are pretty ordinary. We’re not extraordinary people, and normal people get older. There’s a lot to write about in the mundane. I love reading Raymond Carver. Very often there’s not a lot that happens in those stories, but they speak to lived experience.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Teenage Fanclub: Nothing Lasts Forever

Nothing Lasts Forever:

01 Foreign Land
02 Tired of Being Alone
03 I Left a Light On
04 See the Light
05 It’s Alright
06 Falling Into the Sun
07 Self-Sedation
08 Middle of My Mind
09 Back to the Light
10 I Will Love You

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

House of the Dragon’s ‘Blood and Cheese’ Scene Leaves Viewers Cold
Inside Out 2 Movie Review
They Came For The School Library. Now They’re At The Public Library in Escambia County, Florida
‘Blade’ Director Yann Demange Has Reportedly Exited the Marvel Reboot
Kevin Spacey cries, says he’s in debt ‘many millions’ in new interview – National